Missouri CNA Registry Guide

A comprehensive guide to the Missouri CNA Registry: From application to renewal

Welcome to the gateway for becoming a CNA in Missouri! The Missouri CNA Registry serves as the authoritative hub, ensuring the qualification, competence, and adherence to standards for all CNAs in the state. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to get on the Missouri CNA Registry and essential details for maintaining an active status.

Requirements to get on the Missouri CNA Registry


The application process is free of charge.

Minimum Age

You must be at least 18 years old to be eligible for registration unless you are taking the course through a High School Vo-Tech Program.

Minimum Education

Training school may require to have a high school diploma or a GED.

Training Requirements

To qualify you must do a minimum of 75 classroom hours and 100 clinical hours.

Competency Test

To be certified on the Missouri Nurse Aide Registry, you must take both the knowledge ($95) and skill examination ($30) and sign up to Missouri TMU© webpage at https://mo.tmutest.com to book your test. You have 1 year from the start date of your training to complete the program and take the test.

Background Check

A background check may be required by your employer.

Applying to appear on the Missouri CNA Registry

Where to apply

You will automatically be added to the Registry upon passing the examinations.

Required Documentation

This will be determined by the facility with whom you will be taking the examinations.


You cannot be listed on the state Employee Disqualification List.

Processing Time


How to keep your license on the Missouri CNA Registry

Stay Active

The certification period is for 24 months, and you must renew every 2 years by providing verification that you have worked a minimum of eight consecutive hours during the 24-month time frame.


To renew your application, you must sign in to your TMU© account at https://mo.tmutest.com. You will receive a renewal notification/alert 60 days before your certification expiration date via email and text message.

If the documentation of work hours is not related to nursing services, your renewal may be denied. If denied, you may be allowed 15 business days to provide the correct documentation before you will be required to pay another renewal fee.

Processing time: unknown.

Reactivate your expired license

If the certification expires, you must retake the examinations (both knowledge and skills tests).

Missouri CNA reciprocity

For those seeking reciprocity, additional information can be found on our Missouri CNA Reciprocity page.

Missouri Registry and contact details

Link to Registry: https://health.mo.gov/safety/cnaregistry/

Link to license lookup: https://mo.tmutest.com/

Contact information:
Email: cnaregistry@health.mo.gov
Phone: (573) 526-5686
Address: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS), Health Education Unit, 3418 Knipp Drive, Suite F, Jefferson City, MO 65102