Texas CNA Registry Guide

A comprehensive guide to the Texas CNA Registry: From application to renewal

Welcome to the gateway for becoming a CNA in Texas! The Texas CNA Registry serves as the authoritative hub, ensuring the qualification, competence, and adherence to standards for all CNAs in the state. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to get on the Texas CNA Registry and essential details for maintaining an active status.

Requirements to get on the Texas CNA Registry

Fees

The application process is free of charge.

Minimum Age

Some training schools will require you to be at least 17 years old to apply.

Minimum Education

The State does not impose a minimum education requirement for nurse aides. However, some training schools may require to have a high school diploma or a GED.

Training Requirements

To qualify you must train in a state-approved facility that offers a minimum of 100 hours of training, which must include 60 hours of classroom training and 40 hours of clinical training.

Competency Test

To be certified on the Texas Nurse Aide Registry, you must take both a skills demonstration examination and a written or oral examination.

Once you completed your training, you must register with the Texas Unified License Information Portal (TULIP), see here. Testing and scheduling is handled by Prometric by phone: 800.488.5787 or email: TXCNA@prometric.com

Background Check

This is not required at the application stage but will be required by your employer.

Applying to appear on the Texas CNA Registry

Where to apply

You must apply for your nurse aide certification via the Texas Unified License Information Portal (TULIP), see here. Once you have passed the competency test, the information will be updated in TULIP.  You will then get access to your certificate. If you are having difficulties with navigating TULIP you can use this guide to assist you.

Required Documentation

You will need to upload a copy of your social security card and a photo ID.

Restrictions

You will be barred from certification if you have one or more of the following convictions, see here.

If you have a finding of an alleged act of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation against you, you may request both an informal reconsideration and a formal hearing before the finding is placed on the registry.

Processing Time

7 days from passing the competency test.

How to keep your license on the Texas CNA Registry

Stay Active

The certification period is 24 months, and you must renew every 2 years by providing verification that you have

  • completed a Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) course in infection control and proper use of PPE every year.
  • completed at least 24 hours of in-service education in the last two years which included training in geriatrics and the care of residents with a dementia disorder. The in-service education must have been provided by a nursing facility, an approved NATCEP, HHSC, or a healthcare entity licensed or certified by HHSC, the Texas Department of State Health Services, or the Texas Board of Nursing. However, the training the healthcare entity mentioned above can provide cannot exceed 12 hours.

Renew

To renew your application, you must contact the Nurse Aide Registry. You will need to verify your employment at least every two years to remain in active status. The renewal will be taken care of by your nursing facility who will have to complete and file the HHSC Employment Verification form. If you are not currently employed, you may file it yourself.

Processing time: unknown.

Reactivate your expired license

If the certification expires, you must complete a NATCEP or a competency evaluation to reactivate the certificate of registration. You can find more information on TULIP.

Texas CNA reciprocity

For those seeking reciprocity, additional information can be found on our Texas CNA Reciprocity page.

Texas Registry and contact details

Link to Registry: https://www.hhs.texas.gov/business/licensing-credentialing-regulation/long-term-care-credentialing/nurse-aide-registry

Link to license lookup: https://txhhs.my.site.com/TULIP/s/public-search

Contact information:
Email: credential@hhsc.state.tx.us or nurseaideregistry@hhs.texas.gov
Phone: 512-438-2050
Address: Nurse Aide Registry, P.O. Box 149030 MC E-414, Austin, TX 78714-9030