Tennessee CNA Registry Guide

A comprehensive guide to the Tennessee CNA Registry: From application to renewal

Welcome to the gateway for becoming a CNA in Tennessee! The Tennessee CNA Registry serves as the authoritative hub, ensuring the qualification, competence, and adherence to standards for all CNAs in the state. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to get on the Tennessee CNA Registry and essential details for maintaining an active status.

Requirements to get on the Tennessee CNA Registry


The application process is free of charge.

Minimum Age

You must be at least 16 years old to be eligible for registration. Some training schools will require you to be at least 17 years old to apply.

Minimum Education

Training school may require to have a high school diploma or a GED.

Training Requirements

To qualify you must complete the Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program (NATCEP). The NATCEP requires:

  • 75 hours of training, and
  • 16 hours of supervised practical training

If you have taken a different training program, you will need to submit documentation showing the training you received, and the training will need to have met the CNA federal law.

Competency Test

To be certified on the Tennessee Nurse Aide Registry, you must have completed the state competency examination within 24 months from completion of the training. Once you have submitted all the required documentation to the Registry (see below), and your application is approved, you will receive a notification from D&S Diversified Technologies Headmaster TMU to complete the registration for the test.

Background Check

You are required by law to conduct background checks using the state sex offenders registry, the state abuse registry, and the abuse registries for states in which you have lived in the previous 7 years.

Applying to appear on the Tennessee CNA Registry

Where to apply

The application form can downloaded (here). If you choose to complete the form, you must complete it and send it together with all the required documentation (see below) by email to cna.health@tn.gov, or via postal mail: Tennessee Department of Health: Nurse Aide Registry 665 Mainstream Drive, 2nd Floor Nashville, TN 37243.

Required Documentation

You must submit:

  1. Complete and accurate application (see the form above),
  2. Copy of your social security card,
  3. Copy of your state or federal-issued current photo identification,
  4. Official college transcript,
  5. Copy of certificate or license indicating the area of certification and completion date, and
  6. Verification of training on letterhead which includes:
    • Certificate of completion with completion date
    • Completed skills checklist
    • Training completion date
    • Number of classroom and clinical hours
    • Documentation including curriculum taught, and
    • Documentation indicating training of at least 75 hours occurred in both classroom and clinical settings.


You will not be listed on the Registry if you have employment restrictions based on criminal convictions or substantiated complaints that bar you from working as a CNA in Tennessee.

Processing Time

The processing time for applications may vary. Contact the Registry (see below for the contact information) if the processing of your application is urgent.

How to keep your license on the Tennessee CNA Registry

Stay Active

The certification period is for 24 months, and you must renew every 2 years by providing verification that you have worked a minimum of eight hours during the 24-month time frame.


To renew your application, you must:

  1. Log into the Tennesse CNA Registry (here) or provide all documentation via fax to 615-248-3601or email to cna.health@tn.gov,
  2. Provide proof of employment, in the form of a:
    • a pay stub or a payroll printout provided that the paystub or payroll printout contains the name of the facility (not the payroll provider), as well as your social security number and current address on the paperwork or
    • a notarized attestation form (download here) completed and notarized by the facility where you have worked and which includes your name, social security number, the date on which you worked 8 hours, and the name and title of the individual verifying the information.

Processing time: 72 hours.

Reactivate your expired license

If the certification expires, you must then reinstate your certification which requires more documentation than a renewal. 

You will need to provide proof of eight hours worked each year beginning the year before the expiration year and continuing through the current year.  If continuous employment providing CNA duties in a certified facility cannot be provided, you must retrain and retest to be reactivated.

Tennessee CNA reciprocity

For those seeking reciprocity, additional information can be found on our Tennessee CNA Reciprocity page.

Tennessee Registry and contact details

Link to Registry: https://lars.tn.gov/datamart/login.do

Link to license lookup: apps.health.tn.gov/Licensure/default.aspx

Contact information:
Mail: LARS@tn.gov
Phone: (615) 532-3202 or (800) 778-4123
Address: Division of Health Licensure and Regulation, 665 Mainstream Drive, Second Floor, Nashville, TN 37243