Colorado CNA Registry Guide

A comprehensive guide to the Colorado CNA Registry: From application to renewal

Welcome to the gateway for becoming a CNA in Colorado! The Colorado CNA Registry serves as the authoritative hub, ensuring the qualification, competence, and adherence to standards for all Nurse Aides in the state. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to get on the Colorado CNA Registry and essential details for maintaining an active status.

Requirements to get on the Colorado CNA Registry


The application process is free of charge, however, you will need to pay for the exams.

Minimum Age

Many training schools require you to be at least 17 or 18 years old.

Minimum Education

Training school may require to have a high school diploma or a GED.

Training Requirements

To qualify you must have completed a state-approved training program.

Competency Test

To be certified on the Colorado Nurse Aide Registry, you must pass both the written and skills portions of the nurse aide exam within 2 years from when Credentia receives your application. Failure to pass within this period will result in the expiration of the application, necessitating the submission of a new application and payment of associated fees.

Background Check

Many programs as well as employers require you to submit a clear criminal background check.

Applying to appear on the Colorado CNA Registry

Where to apply

You need to complete your application online with Credentia. You can create a new account here, choose the application as a New Nurse Aide and then follow the instructions online or in this registration guide.

Required Documentation

During the application, you will need to enter information about your training program, answer screening questions, and fill out other information related to your professions profile and your eligibility. Once your application has been approved, you will then be able to register for your exams and pay the exam fees. Upon successful completion of the exams, you will be placed on the registry.


If you have any findings against you, these will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis and you must provide all information required by the Registry.

Processing Time

Processing time varies. While it can take a few weeks, it often goes faster.

How to keep your license on the Colorado CNA Registry

Stay Active

The certification period is for 24 months, and you must renew every 2 years by providing verification that you have been paid for at least 8 hours of nursing care work within the 24 months leading up to you application for renewal.


To renew your application, you must log in to your online account at the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations Online Services. Choose license renewal and follow the instructions online. Note that the license renewal will only be available approximately 4-6 weeks before your license expires.

Reactivate your expired license

If the certification expires, you must apply for reinstatement in your online account at the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations Online Services. In order to be reinstated, you need to make sure that you fulfill one of the following criteria:

  • You have performed nursing care activities for monetary compensation with an active certificate, in any state or territory of the United States, for at least 8 hours within the last 24 months, or
  • You have passed both the written and skills exam approved by the Colorado Board of Nursing for nurse aide certification within the last 24 months.

During the application, you will be required to pay the application fee via credit card as well as upload various documentation. Applications are valid for one year from the date they are submitted. If you do not submit all the necessary documents within this timeframe, your application will expire and you will need to submit a new application with fresh documents and an additional fee.

Colorado CNA reciprocity

For those seeking reciprocity, additional information can be found on our Colorado CNA Reciprocity page.

Colorado Registry and contact details

Link to Registry:

Link to license lookup & verification:
License lookup:
License verification:

Contact information:
Phone: 303-894-7800
Division of Professions and Occupations
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202