Mississippi CNA Registry Guide

A comprehensive guide to the Mississippi CNA Registry: From application to renewal

Welcome to the gateway for becoming a CNA in Mississippi! The Mississippi CNA Registry serves as the authoritative hub, ensuring the qualification, competence, and adherence to standards for all CNAs in the state. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to get on the Mississipi CNA Registry and essential details for maintaining an active status.

Requirements to get on the Mississippi CNA Registry

Fees

The application process is free of charge.

Minimum Age

Some training schools will require you to be at least 17 years old to apply.

Minimum Education

Training school may require to have a high school diploma or a GED.

Training Requirements

To qualify you must complete the state-approved nurse aide training program consisting of a minimum of 75 hours of training including classroom instruction and a minimum of 16 hours of clinical practice. You should contact the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) and request a current listing of the Mississippi State Approved Nurse Aide Training Programs. See contact details further down below or contact [email protected].

Note that Mississippi does not accept online computer-based Nurse Aide Training Programs.

Competency Test

To be certified on the Mississippi Nurse Aide Registry, you must pass the NNAAP examination (written or oral examination and the skills evaluation). The written part of the examination consists of seventy (70) multiple-choice questions. Sample examination questions are provided in the handbook. If you have difficulty reading English, you can take an oral examination instead. The oral examination includes sixty (60) multiple-choice questions plus ten (10) reading comprehension/word recognition questions. The skills examination requires you to perform five randomly selected nurse aide skills, rated by a Nurse Evaluator. A complete listing of the skills can be found in the handbook on pages 21 to 28.

If you are taking the competency test on your own, you will have to pay the fees. If you are employed, under federal and Mississippi laws, your employer nursing home will be required to pay the NNAAP fees for you.

  • Written Examination exam re-take $32
  • Skills Evaluation exam re-take $69
  • Oral Examination exam re-take $32
  • Re-certification $26

You will need to submit to Credentia a completed examination application, fees, and a copy of the training program certificate of completion, or an original letter from the training program stating that training has been completed.

You can find more information in the handbook.

Background Check

This will be carried out by your employer.

Applying to appear on the Mississippi CNA Registry

Where to apply

This will be done automatically once you have passed all examinations.

Required Documentation

Relevant documentation will be requested by CNA360 upon enrolling for the examinations.

Restrictions

You cannot become certified again if adverse findings have been placed against you on the Mississippi Nurse Aide Registry and/or your certification has been revoked. This applies for any state, not just Mississippi.

Processing Time

Unknown.

How to keep your license on the Mississippi CNA Registry

Stay Active

The certification period is for 24 months, and you must renew every 2 years by providing verification that you have worked a minimum of eight hours for pay during the 24-month time frame in an approved facility.

Renew

To renew your application, you must print and complete the paper Renewal Application, and have your employer complete and sign Sections III and IV. You must then log into CNA365 complete the CNA365 Renewal Application, and upload the form where prompted to do so. See CNA365’s Renewal Quick Reference Guide for a step-by-step guide. You have a 30 grace period to renew your license from the date of its expiration.

Processing time: Unknown.

Reactivate your expired license

If the certification expires, you must re-test to become active on the Registry. If you fail either part of the NNAAP Examination on the first try, you will be required to complete a Mississippi-approved nurse aide training program before being allowed to re-test as a new nurse aide.

Mississippi CNA reciprocity

For those seeking reciprocity, additional information can be found on our Mississippi CNA Reciprocity page.

Mississippi Registry and contact details

Link to Registry: https://msdh.ms.gov/page/30,1502,83,74.html

Link to license lookup: https://www.msdhpl.webapps.ms.gov/PublicView/PublicIndSearch.aspx

Contact information:
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 601-364-2718 or 601-364-1100
Address: Mississippi State Department of Health, 570 East Woodrow Wilson Dr, Jackson, MS 39216