Arkansas CNA Registry Guide

A comprehensive guide to the Arkansas CNA Registry: From application to renewal

Welcome to the gateway for becoming a CNA in Arkansas! The Arkansas CNA Registry serves as the authoritative hub, ensuring the qualification, competence, and adherence to standards for all CNAs in the state. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to get on the Arkansas CNA Registry and essential details for maintaining an active status.

Requirements to get on the Arkansas CNA Registry


The application process is free of charge, however, there is a fee to take the state examination.

Minimum Age

You must be at least 16 years old to be eligible for registration. Some training schools will require you to be at least 17 or 18 years old to apply.

Minimum Education

Training school may require to have a high school diploma or a GED.

Training Requirements

To qualify you must complete a permitted training program in Arkansas. Alternatively, if you’re a nurse aide candidate from another state, having completed at least 90 hours of training equivalent to Arkansas’ requirements also allows you to take the competency examination in Arkansas.

Competency Test

A candidate who has recently completed their training is required to pass both the knowledge-based and practical skills tests within one year of finishing the training program. You have 3 attempts to pass the exam within this one year. If you do not complete testing within this year or fail the exam 3 times, you must retrain in order to become eligible to further attempt Arkansas nurse aide examinations.

Background Check

Many programs as well as employers require you to submit a clear criminal background check.

Applying to appear on the Arkansas CNA Registry

Where to apply

Once you have completed your training program, log in to your TMU account, navigate to Testing and schedule your Nurse Aide examination. If you have trouble doing so, read the Arkansas Nurse Aide Candidate Handbook for further information or contact Headmaster by email at or by phone at 888-401-0462. Note that the testing fees must be paid before you can schedule your exam.

Upon passing both the theoretical and practical segments of the competency exam, and fulfilling federal and/or state criteria, you will be registered on the Arkansas Nurse Aide Registry.

Required Documentation

During the application process you will need to enter information and answer screening questions as well as make sure that the information about your training program is recorded.


If you have any findings against you, these will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis and you must provide all information required by the Registry.

Processing Time

Processing time varies. The time from passing your exam successfully to being placed on the Registry should not be more than a few weeks.

How to keep your license on the Arkansas CNA Registry

Stay Active

To continue being eligible to work, you are required to renew your certification every 24 months. For renewal eligibility, you must have completed at least 8 consecutive hours of paid work as a nurse aide within the last 24 months. Nurse aides who have restrictions due to misconduct listed on the Registry cannot renew their eligibility.


For renewal, log into your TMU account and enter your work hours along with your employment details. You will then need to select an employer contact to whom an email verification link will be sent. Once your employer confirms your work experience, your eligibility will be extended for another 24 months.

Note: Renewal notifications are sent via email and text message 60 days before your certification expires.

Reactivate your expired license

If your certification expires, you become ineligible for employment. To reestablish your nurse aide certification and employment eligibility, you will need to pass both components of the Arkansas nurse aide competency exam. To do so, sign in to your TMU account and schedule your test. In case of questions, you can contact Headmaster by email at or by phone at 888-401-0462. 

Arkansas CNA reciprocity

For those seeking reciprocity, additional information can be found on our Arkansas CNA Reciprocity page.

Arkansas Registry and contact details

Link to Registry:

Link to license lookup:

Contact information:
Phone: 501-320-6461
Arkansas Department of Human Services
Office of Long Term Care
Nursing Assistant Registry
P.O. Box 8059, Slot S409 Little Rock, AR 72203-1437